Can’t imagine walking in your footsteps

15 Aug

One of the departments that I’ve enjoyed the most during my time at Family Health Center is OB/GYN.  I’m constantly amazed by each patient and how unique each story of life and survival is . . . 

We had a lovely young lady come in pregnant with her fourth child and doing her health history made me realize how much of a survivor she is.  She is very young to begin with and she has already had 3 children and trying to attend college full-time.  These points alone made me realize how amazing she is. 

During this appointment her youngest was so well behaved and her interaction with him was so loving and affectionate.  At times I forgot I was speaking with a young adult because of her maturity and poise.  Sometime when we see patients at a young age they are not always cooperative or polite and sometimes even act like they don’t care. 

I have two younger kids and go to school full-time and on a daily basis they keep me so busy and challenge me in every way possible. I just can’t imagine being so young with almost four children and going to school full-time. 

These are the kind of stories that make me want to be a better mom to my children.  When I think that my day couldn’t have been any worse, or I’m on my last nerve with my children, or even think that I have bad luck with everything, I will remember this young woman and realize if she can do it….so can I

She is a survivor and I am thankful for gaining that insight!!

